MINUTES OF THE EIGHTH ANNUAL MEETING OF THE NATION'S CAPITAL AREA USBC ASSOCIATION

March 16, 2014 Bowl America Gaithersburg • Gaithersburg, Md.

President Mays called the meeting to order at 1:10 PM. **Sheila Small** led the delegates in the pledge to the flag.

Roll Call of the Board

Present: President: Gene Mays; Vice Presidents: Karen Jost, Larry Gonzales, Willie Graves Jr., and Hazel Wallace; Directors: Ruth Adams, Marina Akers-Epps, Robert Ashley III, Tavawyaha Batts, Cynthia Black, Sondra Blakey, Connie Brown, Judith Butler, Phyllis Cook, Tom Dale Jr., Jonathan Emery, Dwight Franklin, Diane Garrett, Jim Lewis, Darron Mayes, Bruce Merriman, Berlin Myers, Dominic Parham, Susan Ryan, Michael Sinek, Sheila Small, Sherry Spause, James Stewart, William Stewart, and Helen Toms;

Office Staff: Ronald McGregor, Sharon Brown, Robert Cosgrove, Quintenna Boone, and Sarah Richardson.

President Mays called for a count of the attendees: 69 members were in attendance. We have a quorum.

President Mays asked for action on the minutes of the March 14, 2013 meeting. Mr. Brothers made a motion to approve the minutes as recorded. The minutes were approved.

Reports of the Officers and Office Reports

President Mays gave his report as well as each vice president, the office manager, the treasurer, the Youth Committee, Bowl for the Cure, BVL, and Youth/Adult Sports Day. The president thanked everyone for their reports.

Elections

Instructions were given to the attendees in reference to the voting procedure.

Elected were: President: Gene Mays; 1st VP: Larry Gonzales; 2nd VP: Willie Graves Jr.; 3rd VP: Hazel Wallace; 4th VP: Susan Ryan; 5th VP: Darron Mayes.

Director (term ending 2016): Ruth Adams, Cynthia Black, Sondra Blakey, Connie Brown, James Butler, Tom Dale Jr., Dwight Franklin, Diane Garrett, Ronald Holton, Jim Lewis, Adam Mitchell, Dominic Parham, William Stewart, Michael Tinsley, and Helen Toms.

<u>Delegates for 2015 National Convention:</u> Robert Ashley III, Cynthia Black, Connie Brown, Phyllis Cook, Andrea Dale, Larry Gonzales, Ronald Holton, Darron Mayes, and Hazel Wallace.

<u>Delegates to the 2015 Virginia State USBC:</u> Robert Ashley III, Connie Brown, Judith Butler, William Stewart, and Hazel Wallace.

New Business

- **1. Local Association Bylaws:** The Legislative Committee submitted the following amendments to the Local Association Bylaws:
 - A. The deadline for submitting qualifications is 72 hours (three business days) before the opening of the Annual Meeting: **Approved.**
 - B. The term for elected officers is 2 years with staggered terms. President and Vice Presidents 2 and 4 will be elected in even-numbered years. Vice Presidents 1, 3, and 5 will be elected in odd-numbered years: **Approved.**
 - C. **National Amendments:** Were discussed. Delegates will vote as directed at the USBC Convention.

Motion by Sharon Brown to pay the bills: Approved.

Meeting adjourned.

For the association,

Ronald McGregor, Manager