MINUTES OF THE SEVENTH ANNUAL MEETING OF THE NATION'S CAPITAL AREA USBC ASSOCIATION

February 24, 2013 Bowl America Gaithersburg • Gaithersburg, Md.

President Ashley called the meeting to order at 1:10 PM. Mr. Dale led the delegates in the pledge to the flag.

Roll Call of the Board

Present: President: Robert Ashley III; Vice Presidents: Andrea Dale, Karen Jost, Ronald Holton, Willie Graves Jr., and Hazel Wallace; Directors: Ruth Adams, Tavawyaha Batts, Mark Bennett, Sondra Blakey, Judith Butler, Phyllis Cook, Tom Dale Jr., Jonathan Emery, Diane Garrett, Larry Gonzales, Jim Lewis, Darron Mayes, Gene Mays, Bruce Merriman, Berlin Myers, Dominic Parham, Michael Sinek, Sheila Small, Sherry Spause, James Stewart, Michael Tinsley, Helen Toms, and Kirk Williams; Manager: Ronald McGregor; Treasurer: Ralph Hayward; Office Staff: Sharon Brown, Quintenna Boone, and Sarah Richardson.

President Ashley called for a count of the attendees: 70 members were in attendance. We have a quorum.

President Ashley asked for action on the minutes of the February 26, 2012 meeting. Mr. Brothers made a motion to approve the minutes as recorded. The minutes were approved.

Reports of the Officers and Office Reports

President Ashley gave his report as well as each vice president, the office manager, the treasurer, Youth Committee, Bowl for the Cure, and Youth Adult/Sports Day. The president thanked everyone for their reports.

Elections

Instructions were given to the attendees in reference to the voting procedure.

Elected were: President: Gene Mays; 1st VP: Karen Jost; 2nd VP: Larry Gonzales; 3rd VP: Willie Graves Jr.; 4th VP: Hazel Wallace; 5th VP: Ronald Holton.

Director (term ending 2015): Robert Ashley III, Judith Butler, Phyllis Cook, Luis Drakes, Jonathan Emery, Bruce Merriman, Berlin Myers, Susan Ryan, Michael Sinek, Sheila Small, James Stewart, and Kirk Williams.

<u>Delegates for 2014 National Convention:</u> Andre Andrews, Jane Andrews, Robert Ashley III, Connie Brown, Phyllis Cook, Andrea Dale, Tom Dale Jr., Dwight Franklin, Diane Garrett, Ronald Holton, Dominic Parham, Sheila Small, and Hazel Wallace.

<u>Delegates to the 2014 Virginia State USBC:</u> Robert Ashley, Phyllis Cook, Andrea Dale, Larry Gonzales, Karen Jost, and Hazel Wallace.

New Business

- **1. Local Association Bylaws**: Amendment to the local association bylaws to change from a one-year term for officers to a two-year term, keeping the limitation to a maximum of two terms. Proposed by Bruce Merriman. Proposal was rejected.
- 2. National Amendments: Were discussed. Delegates will vote as directed at the USBC Convention.

Motion by Sharon Brown to pay the bills: Approved

Meeting adjourned.

For the association,

Ronald McGregor, Manager