In 1949 Vern Ashbacher was secretary of a 36-team men's league at Infantry School, in Fort Benning, Ga. He was secretary of this league for 2 years, until he was transferred to Washington, D.C. in 1951. In 1952 he was secretary of 4 eight-team leagues consisting of officers from all Services stationed in the area, bowling at Pentagon Athletic Center. He was instrumental in having the teams participate in the City Tournament in 1953-1954.

In 1955 he was President of Heidelberg, Germany Men's Bowling Association. This Association consisted of approximately 3,000 bowlers. In addition to being President he assumed the duties of Sec.-Treas. for the year 1956 and conducted Heidelberg City Tournament in 1957, with 240 teams.

In 1957 Vern returned to Washington, D.C. In 1958 he was appointed to the Board of Directors, WCTBA. He was instrumental in forming the initial Va.-Md. Traveling League of 10 teams from the Washington-Baltimore area and was league president for 1958-59 season. Vern became Manager of the Congressional Plaza Bowl in 1959 and served until 1966. Much was learned from Vern while he managed the Congressional Plaza Bowl. The lane conditions he established were the envy of every other bowling house, and it made them improve their conditions. Whenever a new supply of pins were received Vern went over them carefully so that there were no extreme differences. He also was an expert in drilling balls.

Vern assisted in forming various traveling leagues in the Washington area and bowled in the Classic Traveling League for 5 years. He maintained a 203 average in Shirley Major 4 League in 1958-59. He was a member of the WCTBA from 1958 1965. He served as Vice President, Maryland Bowling Proprietors for one year.

In 1966 Vern purchased a 12-lane bowling establishment in Naples, Florida. He has been active in BPA in Florida since 1967 and was elected Vice President of Florida BPAA in 1973. He was appointed to BPAA Tournament Committee in 1972.

We think that no finer man could receive your attention for induction into the Hall of Fame.

Back to Hall of Fame