Larry Gonzales elected president

Members choose Willie Graves Jr., Hazel Wallace, and Susan Ryan for VP posts

March 19, 2015 – Nation's Capital Area USBC Association (NCAUSBCA) members attending the Ninth Annual Membership Meeting held Sunday at

Bowl America Gaithersburg elected Larry Gonzales, Fort Washington, Md., for a one-year term as president beginning August 1, 2015. Gonzales, currently the first vice president who lost to Gene Mays, Washington, D.C., in the 2014 presidential balloting, ran unopposed.

This election began the "staggered terms" procedure approved last year for executive board positions. Thus, via separate ballot, members also elected Second VP Willie Graves Jr., Mitchellville, Md., for a two-year term as first vice president and Third VP Hazel Wallace, Dale City, Va., and Hall of Famer/Fourth VP Susan Ryan, Springfield, Va., for onevear terms as second and fourth vice president, respectively.



Larry Gonzales will serve as NCAUSBCA president for the 2015-2016 season.



Willie Graves Jr.

As a result of no third or fifth vice presidential

candidate receiving a majority vote, those two positions will be decided by the association's board of directors.

Incumbent directors elected for a twoyear term ending July 31, 2017 include Marina Akers-Epps,





Susan Ryan



Nominating Committee Chair Sondra Blakey conducts the elections.



Hall of Famer Ray Brothers speaks against a proposed USBC amendment.

As Sondra Blakey (left) observes, the ballots cast by the members are counted in a separate room by tellers (from left) Hall of Famers Tena Boone and Tom Dale; Margaret Sherrill, and Director Ruth Adams. (Not pictured: spreadsheet tabulator Dwight Franklin) Fort Washington, Md.; Robert Ashley, Centreville, Va.; Judith Butler and James B. Stewart, Hyattsville, Md.; Phyllis Cook, Silver Spring, Md.; Leon Gray, Washington, D.C.; Bruce Merriman, Alexandria, Va.; Berlin Myers, Suitland, Md.; and Kirk Williams, District Heights, Md. Meanwhile, Rick Brooks and Ken Larkin, Alexandria; along with Gene Mays will begin terms as a director on August 1. (Merriman, Myers, James B. Stewart, and Williams are members of the NCAUSBCA Hall of Fame.)





Rick Brooks (above) and Ken Larkin will join the NCAUSBCA board as directors on August 1.



At the Youth Representation Meeting held prior to the Annual Meeting, Director Herman Lee Jr., Clinton, Md., was elected by the youth to the board for a two-year term beginning August 1.

Individuals elected on a separate ballot to serve as delegates to the 2016 United States **Bowling Congress** (USBC) Annual Meeting include Jane Andrews and Andre Andrews of the District, Robert Ashley, Phyllis Cook, Andrea Dale, Stafford, Va.; Larry Gonzales, Hazel Wallace, along with directors Cynthia



Helen Toms announces the winner of the "50-50" drawing: Rick Ketchie (below).





Hall of Famer Eddie Blocker Jr., displays a congratulatory note from President Barack Obama that arrived after his 2014 induction. At right is Judith Butler, Hall of Fame Committee chair.



Judith Butler reminds members of the April 30 deadline for submission of Hall of Fame nominations.

Black, Connie Brown, James Butler, Mitchellville, Md.; and Adam Mitchell, Ashburn, Va.

On another separate ballot, Robert Ashley, Connie Brown, Judith Butler, Andrea Dale, Larry Gonzales, and Hazel Wallace were elected to serve as delegates to the Fall 2015 and Spring 2016 meetings of the Virginia State USBC.

Robert Ashley led the discussion of the proposed USBC amendments that will be voted on at the USBC Annual Meeting in April in Omaha, Neb. (The amendment summaries as well as the desires expressed by NCAUSBCA members on the legislation appear on page 6.)

Immediately prior to the meeting's adjournment, Director Dwight Franklin made a motion that the association pay all bills. It was seconded and passed



President-elect Larry Gonzales congratulates "NCAUSBCA Secretary of the Year" Sahon Wood.

by the members.

Other news from the meeting:

➤ Sahon Wood, who serves as secretary of the Washington Senior Wellness Center league at AMF Marlow Heights, was chosen as "NCAUSBCA Secretary of the Year" and soon will be presented with a plaque at her league.



Robert Ashley reviews the proposed USBC amendments with the attendees.



Hall of Famer Ronald McGregor expounds on his association manager's report.

> A total of \$105 was collected in special BVL baskets that were passed around the room during the tabulating of the ballots.

> Hall of Famer Rick Ketchie won \$71 in the "50-50" drawing, and upon receiving his winnings immediately dropped \$20 into a BVL basket.



Tom Dale conducts the Youth Representation Meeting that occurred prior to the Annual Membership Meeting.



Connie Brown appears with Director-elect Ken Larkin.